ALFRED SCHNITTKE | International Composers’ Competition 2021 – 5th Edition

  • 0
Alfred Schnittke

ALFRED SCHNITTKE | International Composers’ Competition 2021 – 5th Edition

Category : News

ALFRED SCHNITTKE | International Composers’ Competition 2021 – 5th Edition
City: Tchaikovsky str. 7 – Lviv (Ukraine)
Sponsored by: Lviv Philhamonic Society
Date: from 20 > 23 February 2021

The International Composers’ Competition ALFRED SCHNITTKE was born from the idea to create a project that will work on the meeting of the contemporary music of our time, dedicated to the memory of the great russian composer of 20th century Alfred Schnittke (1934-1998).
All composers who wish to participate into the International Composers’ Competition must write an original work.

The 5th International Composers’ Competition ALFRED SCHNITTKE is open to all composers of any age and nationality. The organization will select composers who will have the opportunity to participate into the International Composers’ Competition ALFRED SCHNITTKE from 20 to 23 February 2021 in the city of Lviv (Ukraine), inside the Lviv Philhamonia.

The composers’ selected works will be performed in a final concert on 23 February inside the Concert Hall of Lviv Philharmonic Society.
The concert will be recorded by a sound engineer and a movie director will make a video.


Each composer must submit a music score choosen in the following section :

–        String Orchestra ( 8 violin I, 8 vl II, 6 viola, 4 cello, 3 contrabbass );

–        Piano and string orchestra;

–        Violin or Cello and string orchestra.

Deadline: 19 January 2021.
The work must not exceed 12 minutes.

All score will be sent by email (only one work for composer), in PDF format, at


Each email sent to submit a score shall include:
– The score and orchestral parts must be in A4 format, (please indicate minutes of the score) as PDF file (Sibelius or Finale program);
– A second PDF-file containing the identity of the composer (name and address, nationality, telephone number, email, website, short CV)
and a statement by the composer stating that the submitted work has never before been published, performed in public and/or broadcast before,
nor prized in any composer’s competition. Other file format than PDF are not acceptable and will result in the submission being rejected!
There is no registration form.
The Composition Staff will select the best composers, from all the application submitted, no later than 21 January 2021.


The tuition fee for all participants selected is:

€790 (euro 790 + 5% Paypal tax), to be paid no later than 27 January 2021 by Paypal on email

The tuition fee includes:

– Check sound of  the works of select composers from 20 to 23 February 2021;
– Final concert in Philharmonia with the works selected with the KLK Chamber Orchestra;
– Professional AUDIO / VIDEO recording of the selected works during the final concert.


The tuition fee does not include:

Administrative secretary for the International Music Composers’ Competition ALFRED SCHNITTKE 2021 is Ms. Anastasiya Kodola.
For any question about the tuition fee and payment method write to
Please send a PDF file with your payment check


Carlo Pedini (ITA) – President
Paolo Ugoletti (ITA) – Composer
Domenico Clapasson (ITA) – Composer
Ferdinando Nazzaro (ITA) – Composer, Artistic Director KLKnewmusic
Elis Hallik (EST) – Composer

Three prizes will be awarded.
1 Prize – 850 USD, and the score published by Aldebaran Editions
2 Prize – score edited by Aldebaran Editions
3 Prize – score edited by Aldebaran Editions

The Composition Staff reserves the right not to award the prize and to award Special Mentions of merit.


Share this on:

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more informations

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.