ORIENT / OCCIDENT | Music Composers’ Competition 2021 – 8th Edition

  • 0

ORIENT / OCCIDENT | Music Composers’ Competition 2021 – 8th Edition

Category : News

ORIENT / OCCIDENT | Music Composers’ Competition 2021 – 8th Edition
City: Lviv (Ukraine)
Sponsored by : Lviv Philharmonic Society
Date: 12 > 15 December 2021

The project ”ORIENT/OCCIDENT” was born with the idea of meeting and sharing among composers of various nationalities and age, on the common theme of meeting between the world of the Eastern contemporary music and the Western culture. The Competition will be made possible through one of the most renowned orchestras in Eastern Europe. The high level technique and interpretative of the KLK Symphony Orchestra, will be honored by the finalists of this international event.

The project is open to all composers of any age and nationality, who want to share their musical and personal journey on the art of our time, on the contemporary music and on the figure of the Composer in this Third Millennium. The organization will select composers who will have the opportunity to participate in the “ORIENT/OCCIDENT COMPOSERS’ MUSIC COMPETITION 2021” from 12 to 15 December 2021 in the city of Lviv, inside the myusic center of Lviv Philharmonic Society.


Each composer must submit – deadline: 15 November  2021 – a score for Chamber orchestra with organic in the following list :

The number of the orchestra’s instruments can be up to the following list, max 31 players:  1 flute (ottavino), 1 oboe ( english horn), 1 clarinet (bass clarinet) 1 bassoon, 1 horn, 1 trumpet, 1 trombone, piano, 1 percussionist,  6 violins I, 6 violins II, 4 violas, 4 cellos, 2 contrabass. All score will be sent by email (only one work for composer), in PDF format, at klknewmusic@gmail.com. The selected works will be played on 15 December by KLK Symphony Orchestra. The concert will be recorded by a sound engineer in audio / video professional recording.

Deadline: 15 November 2021.
The work must not exceed 12 minutes.

Each email sent to submit a score shall include:
– The score and orchestral parts must be in A4 format, (please indicate minutes of the score) as PDF file (Sibelius or Finale program);
– A second PDF-file containing the identity of the composer (name and address, nationality, telephone number, email, website, short CV)
and a statement by the composer stating that the submitted work has never before been published, performed in public and/or broadcast before,
nor prized in any composer’s competition. Other file format than PDF are not acceptable and will result in the submission being rejected!
There is no registration form.
The Composition Staff will select 12 scores, from all the applications submitted, no later than 17 November 2021. The physical presence of the composer in Lviv is not obligatory.


The tuition fee for all participants selected is € 950 (euro 950):

€ 950 + 5% tax Paypal (1000 euro) to be paid no later than 23 November 2021 by Paypal on email klknewmusic@gmail.com;

The tuition fee includes:

  • participation at rehearsals and check sound of the selected composers during the period 12 > 15 December 2021 ( rehearsals in streaming );
  • Final concerts in Philharmonia with the works selected and performed by KLK Symphony Orchestra ;
  • professional audio/video recording of the final concerts;
  • certificate of participation.

The tuition fee does not include:

Administrative secretary for the International Music Composers’ Competition ORIENT/OCCIDENT 2021  is Ms. Anastasiya Kodola.
For any question about the tuition fee and payment method write to anastasiakodola@mail.ru.
Please send a PDF file with your payment check to klknewmusic@gmail.com.


Carlo Pedini (ITA) –  President – Composer

Domenico Clapasson (ITA) – Composer

Ferdinando Nazzaro (ITA) – Composer, Conductor,  Artistic Director KLKnewmusic


Three prizes will be awarded.
1 Prize – 1200 USD, and the score published by Aldebaran Editions
2 Prize – score edited by Aldebaran Editions
3 Prize – score edited by Aldebaran Editions

The Composition Staff reserves the right not to award the prize and to award Special Mentions of merit.





Share this on:

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more informations

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.